Graduation at the Crazy HOUSE and why I celebrate when it is over.

I feel like this needs a list again.

  • Graduation Day was cold and pouring rain so I started a fire.
  • When I picked up the oldest child in town to bring her home so she could get ready, she had no SHOES and was wearing sweatpants and a sweatshirt covered in white cat hair.
  • “Don’t worry,” she said to me.  “I have clean clothes in the trunk of your car.”
  • “The clothes are wet for some reason and smell bad.”  (When I opened the trunk later everything was dry but smelled like dirty laundry because it all WAS.)
  • So she went barefoot, in the pouring rain in her clothes.
  • The daughter who graduated was standing in the reception line after the ceremony and said “Look what I got” and waved her diploma at the oldest child, which pissed her off so badly that she stormed off and only came back to the house to get her things and storm off again, saying we all ruin her self esteem and that she will never come back.
  • She got her GED at 16 and is now in college.
  • The daughter who graduated then got pissy and raged about who was invited to her party because she HATES everyone that anyone else wants to see.
  • The husband pissed off all the children when he was frosting the cake.  I don’t know how.  All I heard was the word ASSHOLE over and over again.

The moral of this story is that my family doesn’t think they should pretend to get along for my sake.  I’m not sure if that’s a good thing–good to be genuine, or a bad thing.  I am hiding in my room.

Leave a Reply

