Day 8 of The Very Low Carb Diet for GERD, hydrochloria

The Omeprazole wasn’t working so I stopped taking it today.  I bought some HCL and food enzymes.  I took one pill last night at the end of dinner and things weren’t any worse.  This morning I took one at the end of breakfast and I haven’t had any symptoms of acid reflux yet.  For the first time in a year or more I feel okay.  I don’t know if this is going to work yet.  I have hope.

I read that too little stomach acid can cause GERD, so the medication the doctor gave me would make that worse, as it gets rid of any stomach acid.  Low stomach acid can cause the esophagus sphincter to get lazy as acid is what cues it to close.  And when it is weak due to pregnancies and laziness acid and food can come up into the throat.  This low carb diet and taking HCL should kill some of the H pylori if that’s also a problem and will raise the acid level enough that after a while things should start to work okay again.

How does a person end up with little stomach acid?  Food doesn’t digest well, and I already know that I don’t digest easily so maybe this is just a continuation of the IBS.

Anyway, the doctor was trying to kill me and I am hopeful that heading in a different direction will work.  There is no reason for me to have acid reflux.  I don’t eat anything on the list of things not to eat.  I am not overweight.  I don’t smoke.  Why would a doctor give me a pill without checking to see what the underlying problem is?

Leave a Reply

