A Mother’s Revenge Thwarted

I answered the phone last night.  It was a call from the school system.  The high school has late start mornings on Mondays quite often. I don’t get it. Do the teachers just want to sleep in an extra hour???

These late start Mondays are listed on the school calendar, which is taped on the inside of one of my kitchen cabinets.  No one looks at it.  I don’t even understand it.  There are 12 color codings and 8 of them are not listed on the key.  It’s a blue day!  It’s a yellow day!  Am I supposed to innately know the meanings of blue and yellow?

Anyway, so I heard the message.  I received the email.  I assumed she didn’t know.

I dreamed all night of not telling her, letting her get on the school bus.  The same bus picks up high school and middle school kids and drops the highschoolers off first.  On a normal day.  On late start Mondays it goes straight to the middle school.  I wondered if the bus driver would tell her.  I wondered if she would make it all the way to the middle school before realizing that she was screwed.   I imagined she would call me repeatedly for a ride home and I would be too busy to answer the phone.  I practiced my innocent look in my sleep.  I imagined Nick would look over at me and see an innocent look on my face and think that I was having a good dream.

I practiced my evil laugh.  The one I would do once she realized that I knew all along that she didn’t have to be at school until 9:00 and that she would take the bus across town to the wrong school.  Mwahahaha.

I walked into her room this morning, turned her light on, and said “It’s time to get up!”

“It’s a late start MOM,” she said.

“How do you know that?” my heart fell into my red slippers.

“I knew yesterday.”  And she rolled over and went back to sleep.

Leave a Reply

