It’s called carskiiing in Vermont

I did that on purpose because I miss doing it.

That’s what I told my coworkers when I arrived at work early Friday morning for a staff meeting and they were laughing at me.

We saw you, they said.  We were watching your car slide by and said Wait, is that Kristi?  Isn’t she from Vermont?

Well, yes.  And in Vermont we all go just a little too fast on the highway when there’s an inch of slick snow on the unplowed, unsanded road.  We like to try to stop and then realize there’s no stopping at all for at least another 25 feet when we get to the next business and turn around to come back and try again.  In Vermont that’s our winter pasttime.  It’s like skiiing only in a car, which adds elements of danger and skill.  We especially like to do that with flatlanders in the car.  Since I was alone, I thought I would just put on a show for everyone.  It was my personal version of Olympic Carskiing.  I’m pushing to have that included in the next winter Olympics.

It concerns me that they all laughed again.

Way to be multicultural, people.

One thought on “It’s called carskiiing in Vermont

  1. May I just say what a relief to discover
    somebody who actually understands what they’re talking about on the web. You definitely understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people must read this and understand this side of the story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular because you certainly
    have the gift.

Leave a Reply

