Arrowhead Hunting in Cody, Wyoming

I will admit that I was the one who mentioned going.  I just wanted to get out of the house.  I would have done anything.  Snake chasing, cowboy stalking, wrangling spiders. 

I chose arrowhead hunting, knowing that the chances of ME FINDING AN ARROWHEAD are about the same as ME FINDING JOHNNY DEPP in the cactus and sagebrush.  Probably less.

I found a lot of rocks, some trees, and a piece of old hard tire.

I found an ant

and a cool rock

that I wanted for the backyard but Nick said NO, and I gave up because it was too big for me to carry.

I found Nick a couple of times, even though I thought I’d lost him for sure.

I found some petrified wood, after he handed it to me.

I found a blue feather which is weird because I read that book called Illusions by Richard Bach where the Messiah teaches him to find things by thinking about them first and the first thing he tried to find was a blue feather.  I didn’t know until that SECOND that I would forever think about that book when finding a blue feather.

Then while writing the above paragraph I realized that Stephen King called himself Richard Bachman and I wonder who came first, the Bach or the Bachman. 

Then I found some pretty mountains that looked really cold

And I found this bone

and I don’t know what it belongs to, but there were so many HUGE WOLFSPIDERS hanging out in the sagebrush that I imagine a bunch of wolfspiders took town an antelope and this was all that was left.  The wolfspiders looked like this

Only without the dripping antelope blood.  I added that so that you would have an easier time visualizing hundreds of wolfspiders jumping on an antelope.

Then I found some more pretty mountains

Oh look, there’s Nick again!  It’s like he’s following me!

Then I found this jagged little shiny stone

which Nick says is made of “good material” but isn’t “tooled.”  Tooled?  I don’t know how you can tell.  If it looks like a chip from an arrowhead, feels like a chip from an arrowhead, then it is just a pretty rock I picked up and carried home in my pocket, feeling like a tool. 

At least I found something.

2 thoughts on “Arrowhead Hunting in Cody, Wyoming

  1. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme
    in our community. Your website offered us with valuable info to
    work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

