It is not easy to speak out

but it is very important.

It’s the day after my story was added to the VU site and I spent last night thinking about whether I wanted to add the badge to my blog.  It is true that he reads what I write every day and that he leaves comments sometimes.  He says he’ll take me to court for slander.   We’ve been divorced for seven years and the girls have been refusing to see him for well over two years.  I live 2600 miles away.  It’s my life now..

I don’t see how any court would ever listen to him anyway.  I’m only speaking of a crime committed and what it did to me.  There is nothing wrong with that.  The more he threatens, the more I feel the need to continue what I’ve been doing all along, talking about domestic violence.  Telling people that no matter how smart I am, how independent I am, how confident I am IT HAPPENED TO ME TOO.

There’s a deep seated belief that victims ask for abuse, they search for partners that will abuse them, they are brainwashed into thinking it’s okay, and their self-esteem is so low that they don’t even want to get out.

This wasn’t true for me and I’m sure it’s not true for most.  Abuse affects all kinds of people.  All classes.  All races.  All educational levels.  We need to speak out so that we can support each other in our struggle and make the world see that this is happening to us. 

So I won’t be bullied into silence again.  I’m not afraid.  You can’t touch me now.

I’ll just keep singing along to Eminem

“Not Afraid”
I’m not afraid (I’m not afraid)
To take a stand (to take a stand)
Everybody (everybody)
Come take my hand (come take my hand)
We’ll walk this road together, through the storm
Whatever weather, cold or warm
Just lettin you know that, you’re not alone
Holla if you feel like you’ve been down the same road (same road)

Yeah, it’s been a ride
I guess I had to, go to that place, to get to this one
Now some of you, might still be in that place
If you’re trying to get out, just follow me
I’ll get you there.

If you have no idea what I’m talking about there’s a picture of a woman screaming on the left panel at the very bottom.  Click on it.

Abrah has informed me that she can’t see it, and although I think she’s crazy or maybe blind because IT’S RIGHT THERE, here’s a link:  http://violenceunsilenced.com/kristi/

 

 

2 thoughts on “It is not easy to speak out

  1. Rock on, mom – you surely saved him from prison (he should thank you, not threaten you) and you or one of your girls from the hospital or worse.

Leave a Reply

