Thermopolis Hot Springs, Star Plunge, and what happens when someone tries to drown me

We finally made it down to Thermopolis today, in MY car.  It didn’t even die on the way.  Thermopolis is this really sweet little town of just over 3000 people, in the middle of nowhere Wyoming.  Okay, so we’re all in the middle of nowhere out here.  But Thermopolis is REALLY REALLY in the middle of nowhere.

A sign painted on one of the hills there says “World’s Largest Mineral Hotspring.”  This is like saying “World’s Best Pancakes” or “World’s Best Babes.”

Yeah, no.

Anyway, we had a great time.  Even when Nick kept attacking my legs under the water.  I started hold him off by grabbing his head and not letting him swim under me.  But then he would sneak up on me and lift me out of the water.  This is when my innate feline sense kicked in and I climbed up him like a cat.  A frantic water-hating cat.

Obviously I would be no good on a sinking ship.  But I would live.  I know which way is UP and I will climb any thing or any one to stay above water. 

I also discovered that I scream the whole way down water slides.  At the Star Plunge there’s a big one that starts halfway up a hill.  I let them talk me into going once.  Well, I really didn’t want to chicken out and look like an idiot.  So I took my mat and I sat on it and as soon as I hit the first corner, screaming of course, I splayed out my hands and feet to slow down and then I discovered that my mat would slip sideways if I wasn’t hanging onto it.  So I gave up trying to slow down and just held on for dear life, screaming the whole way down.  I don’t like going up the walls on corners.  I don’t like being spewed out the end into a pool.  But I went once to prove I could if I wanted to, without actually peeing myself.  And I didn’t look like an idiot at all.  Ahem.

It was an awesome day!

And I’m pretty sure Iceland, New Zealand, and Yellowstone have bigger mineral hotsprings.  And maybe Japan.  But I am glad I live so close to one because when I’m old I’m going to go every weekend and soak the ache out of my bones.

11 thoughts on “Thermopolis Hot Springs, Star Plunge, and what happens when someone tries to drown me

  1. Heya exceptional blog! Doees running a blog similar to this reqire a great del of work?
    I have virtually no expertise in computer programming however I had been hoping to sttart my own blog in thee near future.
    Anyways, should you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this iss off subject however I simply wanted to ask.
    Thank you!

  2. I ddo not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing problems
    with your site. It appears as though some of the text on your content are running off the
    screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let
    me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a problem with my web
    browser because I’ve had this happen before. Many thanks

  3. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in
    Internet explorer. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to
    do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.

    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue solved
    soon. Cheers

  4. You’re so cool! I do not believe I have read something like this before.
    So great to find someone with original thoughts on this subject matter.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This website is one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with a little originality!

  5. I believe this is one of the so much vital info for me.
    And i’m glad studying your article. But want to remark on few
    common issues, The website style is ideal, the articles is really great :
    D. Just right process, cheers

Leave a Reply

