Day 4 and a 1/2: What’s in my Chicken?

So last night I was hungry and I wanted some MEAT and I looked in the fridge and there was this nice new container of Hillshire Farm deli chicken breast. 

It couldn’t be that bad, I thought.  Some chicken, some water to make a loaf.  They cut it and well I WAS HUNGRY.

Until I saw the ingredient label.

Chicken breast, water,modified corn starch, sodium lactate, salt, carrageenan, dextrose, rotisserie seasoning (dextrose, natural flavors, onion powder, salt, modified corn starch, autolyzed yeast extract, corn maltodextrin, autolyzed yeast, garlic powder, spice, sesame oil), sodium phosphate, sodium nitrite, and carmel color. 

I only understand the first two.

Natural flavors sounds really suspicious.  Natural flavors of WHAT?  The chicken?  Why would they include that if it was a natural flavor of an ingredient already on the label?  And why put in more of the things already included in the rotisserie seasoning?  Yeast?  Really?  That’s just horrifying.  And of course, corn starch.  After watching Food, Inc. I’m not surprised at that one.

I just wanted some chicken.  I put it back in the refrigerator and ate an unfulfilling banana instead.

One thought on “Day 4 and a 1/2: What’s in my Chicken?

  1. We have chicken all the time, since we raise our own. The only ingredient is, chicken. Maybe you can raise your own meat out there in Wyoming, but then again, if there’s nothing around to feed them….

Leave a Reply

