Better than Christmas

I was planning on going out today to Mardi Gras and all that, dancing the night away with friends. But I have a clinger cold and still feel like my throat has been sewn mostly shut. I hate being in a noisy bar and trying to talk to people when I have no voice.
So I am home alone.
And the girls are gone.
Guess what this means! I get to throw away whatever I want!!!!!

I’ve been through the living room and kitchen already and I’ve already found:

–Twenty seven pieces of paper with a small doodle of something in one corner or a random word. As fun as these are to try to decipher, I don’t REALLY NEED them. I’m sure 3 weeks from now one of the girls will come to me and say “Mom, where’s that picture I drew of a chicken with skis for feet and the word Lassie written under it?” and then they will cry brokenhearted tears when I lie and say “I don’t know.”
–three used matches, two kleenexes and a rubber rhino
–an m & m in the couch, a dead pen, a christmas box with wax in it, and three dead batteries
–4 pieces of homework that never made it to school
–enough pieces of yarn in varying lengths to have actually made a sweater
–the Thanksgiving singing turkey Grandpa “gave” to the girls because it annoyed him
–four earrings that don’t match each other and one back
–a jelly bean (Hey Haley, I’m saving it for you.)
–my morning coffee that I misplaced last week sometime
–3 pairs of socks, but they don’t look dirty
–my computer desk!
–a used bath towel under the couch cushions
–2 sweatshirts behind a chair
–empty eyeliner
–a tiny black spring, another big spring that looks like it might be a part of the couch
–two dry markers
–a cup full of frosting and a spoon in the downstairs bathroom under the sink
–a half empty container of bandaid wrappers, but no bandaids
–a school picture of someone who doesn’t look like one of my kids
–a butter knife in the entertainment center
–a battery cover for something unknown
–an apple core that you don’t want me to tell you about.

What’s really really sad about this day: I am having a great time! This is better than Christmas!!!

“Pstttttttt, you might want to come home early girls. I’m heading upstairs next.”

One thought on “Better than Christmas

  1. go mom go and I agree it is sometimes better than Christmas to “clean” house….happy house cleaning:0) Everytime I do that I think this will teach them….sadly they soon forget and we start all over again

Leave a Reply

