Men and Babies

This morning was the first morning EVER that Nick and I got ready to leave for work at the same time.  It was going okay until I walked by Nick pushing shoes onto the baby’s feet.  Big brown hiking shoes.  On a 10 month old baby.  I really didn’t want to say anything at all, but then I thought about putting him in his car seat with those big shoes on and carrying him into daycare and the poor little thing trying to crawl in big shoes and so I said

Why are you doing that?

And he said

Because you told me to.

And I said

No, I didn’t.

Yes, you did.

I never told you to put shoes on the baby.

You muttered that the shoes weren’t your problem.  And so I’m putting shoes on the baby.

That’s when I realized that I had been walking around turning off lights, shutting doors, picking up rose leaves and all the other things in the path the girls took to the front door to go to the corner to get on the bus.  The youngest had tried on shoes and left them in front of the couch, which I had just picked up and hung back up in the coat closet, muttering to myself

How are these shoes MY problem?

Which he then decided to solve for me by putting hiking shoes on the baby.

I don’t think we should get ready for work at the same time.

Leave a Reply

