Urinary Tract Infection: Can you flush it out?

I’m sure you’re all still worried about my bladder.  I am.  Don’t you just love how I share all of this on my blog?  I think in the back of my mind I want to make these things easier to talk about.  My bladder is not an ugly secret.  It’s just my bladder and it hurts.

I tried to flush it out with unsweetened cranberry juice and cranberry supplements and lots of water.  I pee 30 or more times a day.  I have spent the last 7 days in various bathrooms.   My life has become planning how far I can travel between bathrooms without peeing myself.

Last night I went to the walk-in clinic at the ER and said “HELP ME PLEASE!” because the constant pressure had turned to cramping pain.  Now, it hasn’t hurt to pee at all.  It just feels like giant hands are constantly squeezing my bladder.   Like I’m stuck in a meeting I can’t get out of and I drank 3 cups of coffee and I need to go so bad it hurts and I’m actually sweating and praying from one breathe to the next that I don’t pee myself.

I did flush the bacteria out of my urinary tract.  Nothing showed up in the lab.  But I don’t believe it’s possible to flush it out of my bladder.  Only antibiotics can do that because it lives in the walls.  It’s also that much closer to my kidneys so when the cramping pain began I was out the door immediately.

My conclusion is:  If it’s in your urethra and it stings to pee, but your bladder feels okay go ahead and drown the sucker!!!!!  But if it’s in your bladder don’t even bother.  Go beg for help.

I’ll be better by tomorrow.  I can’t wait to spend even five minutes thinking about something other than needing to pee.

One thought on “Urinary Tract Infection: Can you flush it out?

  1. When I first started going out with my boyfriend I used to spend most days and nights at his place. I’m a very shy person at first, and hated even having to go pee when he was in his room as it was an ensuite.
    Then I get a UTI.
    As we were just together 1-2 weeks, and I was still very shy, I tried so hard to not have to go every 10 minutes, but I couldn’t help it. My god the pain you can be in when you have that! The worst part is the pathetic amount you pee. All that pain for nada.
    So I give in and get some stuff called Ural, you’re supposed to mix with water, but I use cordial. Try sneaking a heap of powder into your drink without anyone seeing it, then you have to stir it.
    I eventually gave in and admitted all. Was hard to keep it a secret when I cringed every time I took a sip of my drink.
    Now I’m back to having the best bladder of anyone I know. I can hold for hours upon hours. Possibly the only thing about my body I can brag about.

Leave a Reply

